Reviews

  • M
    Maciej DworczynskiPoland,February 25, 2018

    Everest High Pass Excellent Trek October 2017

    We did the Everest High Pass Trekking with Nepal Mother House Treks in October 2017. We booked for our group of 4 friends.

    Contact with Karna before the trek (emails, calls) was seamless. I had a recommendation for Nepal Mother House before, so after the first email, to Karna, I felt that we had made a perfect choice. The communication was specific, detailed, and on time.

    The trek was beautiful, amazing, and unforgettable. Our expectations were met 100%. Our guide Sabut was a very social and helpful man. We had to shorten our trek for 2 days, Karna and Sabut managed flight changes and accommodation in a moment. After the trek, we had an opportunity to meet with Karna and share our impressions. Karna was interested in our thoughts and was looking for feedback. He is an open-minded and people-oriented person. Sabut invited us to his home in Kathmandu - it was amazing just to spend time with him, and his family, and try local cuisine.

    Great people, great trip!!!  I would strongly recommend the Nepal Mother House Treks & Expedition.

  • N
    Nepal Mother House, what else !France,January 21, 2018

    Nepal Mother House, what else !

    Let me describe to you my first time in Nepal. I went there with 3 friends for a long Trek in the Tsum Valley and Manaslu. One of my friends exchanged multiple emails with Karna, who is the managing director of the agency. He told us that he had a great feeling about this man, that the working approach of this agency seemed to be very good and ethical. I trusted my friend and as soon as we met Karna, I immediately knew he was right. We received a warm welcome in his office. He took plenty of time explaining all details about our trek. From this moment, I had absolutely no fear and was looking forward to beginning our adventure!

    We met our guide, Subarna, the next day. Subarna is an amazing guide, kind, professional, very attentive, and always positive! I could go on with a million adjectives but will resume him with one word: Subarna, to the 4 of us, was simply perfect. We had a lot of fun during the trek altogether. There was not a day we were not amazed by the splendid landscape that offers Nepal. Besides, we had the chance to learn about the culture of the country thanks to our guide and the locals we met in the different lodges where we stayed.

    When we came back to Katmandu, we met with Karna to give him feedback about our amazing experience and he made sure we had everything set up for our homecoming. We also had the chance to see Subarna back in Katmandu and visit places together. It was so nice.
    I have so many good memories of everything I lived there!

    If I come back to Nepal, I will certainly use the services of Nepal Mother House once again as I am 100% satisfied and happy with the time I had thanks to Karna and Subarna.

    To sum up: trust Nepal Mother House beyond doubt! :) Pricing is very competitive, quality is there and you will meet wonderful people.

  • M
    MocochainFrance,January 09, 2018

    Tour du Manaslu et trek dans la Tsum Valley

    "Nous avons choisi cette agence après un bon premier contact par mail et des offres de prix intéressantes.

    Grand bien nous en a pris, le patron M. Karna Rana s'est avéré d'un grand professionnalisme doublé d'un accueil très amical. Très à notre écoute et attentif à nos demandes (nous avions besoin d'un trek sur mesure en raison du laps de temps très court que j'avais au Népal), il nous a profilé un séjour au timing PARFAIT en compagnie d'un jeune guide (Subarna) d'une rare bienveillance et gentillesse... Un magicien à ses heures, réussissant l'exploit de me rapatrier à Katmandou en pleine période d’élection alors qu'aucun bus et 4x4 n'était censé circuler !!! En sa compagnie, notre expérience népalaise a été bien plus qu'un trek au Népal, celle d'un vrai échange !

    Je suis moi même accompagnateur en montagne, cherchant le maximum d'autonomie dans les pays que je parcours et force est de reconnaître qu'un bon guide permet de voir et de vivre bien plus que des paysages !!!

    Si notre expérience vous convainc de choisir cette agence, on vous recommande plus que fortement ce jeune homme, le bien nommé Subarna..."

  • L
    LydiaCanada,December 23, 2017

    Excellent service from Mr. Karna, Nepal Mother House!

    It was my first trip to Nepal and I read a lot of reviews before choosing Nepal Mother House. I was planning a solo trip with a trek to the Tengboche monastery during the Mani Rimdu festival.

    I communicated by email a few months ahead, and Mr. Karna always responded very quickly. He asked for a small deposit, and I liked the fact that the guide/porter would be flexible, so, I could enjoy the trek at my own pace. I had to visit the office a day before the trek for preparations, and Mr. Karna took his time and explained everything very clearly, all my concerns dropped. I also met my guide/porter Sundip. He and his friend accompanied me to the bank, then to a place where I could rent my down sleeping bag, I felt they were patient, and answered all my questions.

    I was glad I had Sundip with me when arriving at the airport, it seemed rather complicated to get on the right flight, but he knew what to do.
    During the trekking I had lots of freedom, Sundip was often way ahead or behind me, but we always connected before continuing, so I could enjoy taking photos and walking at my own pace. We had some good laughs in the evenings. He made sure I was OK when some symptoms of altitude set in, advising me to rest, and drink sufficiently, and he checked on me regularly. He always found me a single room at the teahouses and served me food and beverages. He also made sure that there was no garlic in any food, as I am allergic to garlic. He was very respectful.

    To give an honest review, I will just add one remark about what was missing. As a guide, I had expected to learn more about Nepalese culture, the history, the Tengboche monastery, my final destination, or just about the sherpa lifestyle... I ended up doing research after the trip which informed me more of what I had seen.

    I only have good words to say about Mr. Karna, he is a very honest, respectful, and reliable man, I hope to go back to Kathmandu someday, and I will definitely use his services/Nepal Mother House again. I highly recommend this agency! I will always have very fond memories and great pictures from this trip. Thanks to Mr. Karna for making this possible and for his excellent service!

  • J
    Jon MerriottUnited Kingdom,December 08, 2017

    Reliable Trekking Agency in Nepal

    Karna was good enough to arrange a bespoke trek through some very remote territory. having trekked in the Himalayas five times before I really wanted to get off the beaten track for what I believed would be my last big trek. Sadly after only three days, I got very ill, which only got worse (it has been diagnosed as probably being Typhoid and one or two other nasties as well!). We initially tried to walk back out to Tummlingtar but eventually, I was too ill to stand.

    As there was no other way to get out of the area we were in (there had been some landslides so mules were out as an option and I wouldn't have lasted the time taken to carry me out) I had to be helicopter rescued and then spent a week in hospital before an emergency flight home. Throughout this process Karna was great, he did everything. When things go wrong is when you actually see the true colors of an organization like this and I cannot fault the way they acted. Karna even visited me in the hospital every day and kept in contact with my wife back home. He's a quiet unassuming man who has plenty of experience himself of treks - I had lots of time to chat to him that week. My guide was Bombasingh, I had asked for an older, experienced guide and that is exactly what Karna provided.

    Bomb, as he's known, took great care of me, he did so much for me despite falling a bit ill himself. He visited me three times a day in the hospital and refused to go home himself until he had got me into that wheelchair at the airport and wasn't allowed any further! I can really recommend him too. The only thing I can't recommend is the route from Tummlingtar to Jiri. It's a very impoverished area with terrible sanitation and no way out except by chopper, to be fair Karna had tried to dissuade me from this area before I booked the Everest Base Camp Trek from Tumlingtar known as Arun Valley Trek. Whenever you go through an agency you do put your life in their hands and I am happy to say that they really came through for me.

    There are plenty of other agencies that are not like this (in the hospital I saw large groups come in from other agencies, all members having AMS which shows they had been taken way too high way too quickly), Nepal Mother House is one of the few agencies left that I would feel I could actually recommend and if you get a chance I would also recommend Bombasingh, a great guy who probably saved my life.

  • B
    Brian Leslie Mee & Patricia Ann MeeUnited Kingdom,November 14, 2017

    Unforgettable Kanchenjunga - North & South Base Camps Trip

    A tough trek on rough terrain in a remote area. We've done seven treks in Nepal previously including 3 high Passes and Dhaulagiri Circuit and found this really hard on the legs. 50 years of mountaineering experience gave us the mental strength to cope!

    It's now possible to do the trek in lodges for a small group but some lodges are quite small. We (2 of us) started in late September just before the main season so didn't have a problem. Doing Kanchenuinga North Base Camp first means the hardest section of the foothills in a forested valley is done at the beginning. The walk out from South Base Camp is largely on open hillsides with views for inspiration.

    Karna at Nepal Mother House was superb. Having founded his business on 10 years of portering, he really knows the game. He handled us in just the right way in respect of our previous experience and willingly sorted queries and problems. Sabut, our guide, was superb with a great sense of humor which made the trek really enjoyable. Kishman, our porter, looked after us really well and we felt like part of a family. Both were cooks who contributed to our meals on several nights. Food, incidentally, was really good with veg and mushrooms straight from the ground into the pot with pork or chicken on some nights - beautifully spiced too.

    We managed the Kanchenjunga Circuit trek in 20 days of walking but 22 days (minimum) would be more comfortable. Take a lightweight inflatable mattress as some lodge mattresses leave something to be desired.

  • R
    Refeleaf (Zlatuse and Hynek)United Kingdom,November 10, 2017

    Couldn’t ask for more

    The commendation and praise mentioned in many of the reviews are not exaggerated and I fully agree with them.
    Mr. Karna proved a very reliable and capable organizer coping with everything we threw at them and we did require a lot of flexibility from the start to the end of Manaslu Tsum Valley 22 Days. He matched a perfect experienced guide to our needs and not only that, but along with the porter they were also wonderful people to have around. Our satisfaction was everything to them. Mr. Karna required a small deposit to book the right men which is fully understandable. The pricing overall I found very competitive. It’s not easy to write a review when you are totally satisfied and are referring to very experienced people who know their environment like no one else and who will simply do their best for you. Nepal Mother House is highly recommended to everyone and to those who require customizing the treks whatever their needs.

    Special thanks to our guide and porter.

  • S
    Steve WaddellAustralia,December 05, 2016

    26-day trek to Manaslu & Tsum Valley with Nepal Mother House

    My friend and I have just returned from a great 26-day trek to Manaslu & Tsum Valley with Nepal Mother House.

    The owner of Nepal Mother House, Karna, was a joy to deal with from the start, being very professional and helpful at all times. The whole experience was very easy with Karna organizing all the details whilst allowing us the flexibility we desired. The trek itself exceeded our expectations and our guide, Jayaram Nagar (Jay) was always informative and ready to help, unlike some of the guides we observed with other groups. A number of other travelers we spoke to who organized their own guides/porters were impressed by how smoothly our trek went and concluded that they saved little or no money by organizing their own treks and that it was not worth the added hassle.

    The extension to Tsum valley is highly recommended to see some of the last examples of true Tibetan culture, despite being situated in Nepal. November was a great time to go (our Trek was from November 6 to December 4) with reduced numbers of tourists and perfect weather. November is slightly colder than October but this was not an issue, with the coldest night we experienced being around -7 Celcius the night before Larkya La pass. Daytime hiking temperatures were generally pleasant.

    Tsum valley and Manaslu circuit have recovered well from the 2015 earthquakes and there is no reason to avoid this area; in fact, they have suffered from reduced tourist numbers and need our support.